MORNING DEVOTIONS

Take it Slow

Aderonke Awonusi
Koinonia
Published in
Sep 16, 2023

--

Photo by Alin Luna

When I watch my dog Sky chasing after her own tail, it’s funny to me because I know she is simply on a wild goose chase. But when I see the frustration in her eyes sometimes, I am filled with pity.

I guess this is how God feels about us, when we set very unrealistic expectations for ourselves, and are pressured into achieving them, even by our cheerleaders.

“Come to me, all you who are weary and burdened, and I will give you rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart, and you will find rest for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden is light.” (Matt 11:28–30, NIV)

Is it possible God is whispering to us to take things easy because he is not involved in our racing?

--

--

Aderonke Awonusi
Koinonia

Godlover, Unashamed of the Gospel of Christ. HR Pro & Writer. I am passionate about sharing the gospel of Jesus Christ through Storytelling..