Ten-Hut!

The church in formation

Lori Wangler
Koinonia

--

Photo by Filip Andrejevic on Unsplash

The evening my son graduated from National Guard AIT, the families were sent to a parking lot to wait in the dark.

I really didn’t know why we were there, but suddenly there came a sound like none other: the sound of hundreds of boots marching in rhythm. As they marched, the sergeant would call out something unintelligible to me, but the soldiers knew just what he was saying, and they answered in unison.

Their voices sounded as one. As they rounded the corner, they weren’t looking at us or each other but only at their leader.

By the time they stood before us, my husband and I could hardly speak. I’m crying now as I remember it. It was breathtaking, powerful: a troop of men and women in formation, eyes straight ahead, ready to move at the command of their leader. We were spellbound.

Way back in the wilderness, Moses told his troops their time was coming.

See, I have taught you decrees and laws as the LORD my God commanded me, so that you may follow them in the land you are entering to take possession of it. Observe them carefully, for this will show your wisdom and understanding to the nations, who will hear about all these decrees and say, ‘Surely this great nation is a wise and understanding people.’ (Deuteronomy 4:5–6, NIV)

--

--