That Darn Craving

How Can I Resist?

Jenny Calvert
Koinonia
2 min readSep 26, 2022

--

Photo by Valeria Zoncoll on Unsplash

Everyone is tempted by their own cravings; they are lured away and enticed by them. Once those cravings conceive, they give birth to sin; and when sin grows up, it gives birth to death. James 1:14–15 (CEB)

A constant eye was on our petite two-year-old granddaughter, Lilly. Because of our love, we were there to retrieve our little explorer. She would stand on the step in the shallow end of the pool and inch her way to the deep end by clinging to the edge. We knew that if she lost grip of the deck, she would go under the water.

Giving in to temptation

I realize that I am no different from my granddaughter. I stick my toe into the enticing pool of sin, knowing that I have the power of Christ in me to resist. I inch my way further and further until suddenly, I’m gripping in fear of disaster to the edge of freedom.

When I call out to Christ, who guards, guides, and protects me, He supplies a way for me to escape. He lifts me out of my sin and reminds me that I was always tethered to Him by His love. Sometimes the consequences of sin take many tears, sweat, and years to restore fully. I could have been saved from much heartache if I had never given in to my craving.

Five ways to resist temptation

First, it’s much easier if we steer clear of sin’s bait shop.

Second, we should never even stick our toe into sin’s pool.

Third, we must consider what we stand to lose to sin’s power.

Fourth, we recognize the power of Christ in us to resist.

Fifth, we must not forget that Christ’s love for us is far more rewarding than any pleasure sin may give us.

A helpful scripture:

No temptation has seized you that isn’t common for people. But God is faithful. He won’t allow you to be tempted beyond your abilities. Instead, with the temptation, God will also supply a way out so that you will be able to endure it. 1 Corinthians 10:13 (CEB)

Prayer

Thank you for loving me, Lord, and never taking your eye off me. Only through your grace can I withstand the temptation of sin. Please help me!

--

--

Jenny Calvert
Koinonia

Jenny is a Christian devotional writer. She writes for several magazines, books, and online venues, sharing the peace, hope, and light of Christ.