Family Estrangement

The Absolutely Shocking Truth About Idol Worship — It’s Not What You Think

How I became an idolater

Elizabeth Erlandson
Koinonia
Published in
4 min readAug 26, 2022

--

Photo by Adaivorukamuthan on Unsplash

When I started writing about dealing with estrangement from my daughter, my prayer partner said, “People in recovery groups often talk about the sickness, which doesn’t do any good. You’ve got to focus on the cure.”

So what’s the cure? You can’t change another person’s heart. You can’t make a person love you or reconcile with you. So what can you do?

Christians know that Jesus is the cure for every evil in the world. But what exactly does that mean?

How does knowing Jesus fix my broken heart and shattered dreams? How does it ease the shame of failing at the most important job in the world?

The only way I could survive the raging storms of anger, fear, disappointment, and shame was to cling to God in the whirlwind and trust Him to carry me to safety.

A very rude awakening

My husband and I attended church with our children every Sunday, but when our daughter entered her teens, she displayed signs of rebellion and resentment.

--

--

Elizabeth Erlandson
Koinonia

Totally sold out to Jesus Christ, in Whom I find ever-increasing joy. Wife to Doug. Mother of two. Urban gleaner. Retired candy store owner. Devotional writer.