The Anger of God

Is that really necessary?

Lori Wangler
Koinonia

--

Photo by Pixabay

For a very long time, and perhaps to a measure even now, I’ve had a strange relationship with the word “holy.” If I think “holy” while thinking of God, my heart bows in awe. If I think “holy” while thinking of man, I get a glimpse of a stern look and a wagging finger. My mind, thank God, has been largely washed of that image, but it’s still there, a corner of it peeking out from beneath the pages of truth.

In truth, “holiness” means “set apart.” God is set apart. He’s far above Satan and the fallen angels, far above all the other heavenly creatures, far above all so-called gods, and far above the crown of His creation: mankind. Which makes it all the harder to grasp that God invites humanity to share in His holiness. He said, “Be holy, for I am holy” (Leviticus 11:44; I Peter 1:16). That’s not a terse command to a people with no potential. It’s an invitation to greatness. In God’s playbook, humanity was created to display His holiness by walking in His righteousness on the earth.

In opposition to God’s holiness is man’s battle for autonomy. He wants his own way and thinks he knows best. But when what man wants isn’t working, he looks to God, often with accusation, and asks, “Can’t you do anything?” or shouts, “Won’t you do anything?” or cries, “Why are you doing this to me?” He casts God as either impotent or heartless…

--

--