The Beauty of the Bible

The wonderfulness of spending time in the Word

Regina Neiswender
Koinonia
4 min readApr 17, 2020

--

Maybe it’s because I was taken to church for my entire childhood, but for as long as I can remember I have loved Jesus.

That’s not to say I am a perfect Christian, in fact, I’m far from it. While perfection sounds nice, it would completely negate my need for Christ.

This way of thinking does not condone sinful behavior but allows a person to seek forgiveness for sins, accept forgiveness, repent, and move forward rather than living a life full of guilt and condemnation.

If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just and will forgive us our sins and purify us from all unrighteousness. (1 John 1:9, NIV)

When I sat down to read my Bible tonight, I wasn’t sure what I wanted to read and it prompted me to write this article.

Should I read about Joseph or Moses? David or Paul? John, Ruth, Esther, Matthew, Jonah?…I couldn’t decide because I love them all.

I love their humanity.

No one is perfect

Moses didn’t believe he had what it took to follow God’s leading (Exodus 4:10–13). Moses spent Exodus chapters 3 and 4 trying to convince God He had the wrong man for the job.

Jesus met Thomas in his doubt (John 20:24–29). Thomas needed to touch the nail prints and put his hand in Jesus’ side in order to believe it was really Him.

Even though Peter disowned Jesus three times, Jesus reinstated him (John 21:15–19). Because of his fear, Peter denied knowing Jesus (John 18:15–18; 25–27).

Paul (formerly Saul) persecuted Christians and then became a powerful Apostle for Christ (Acts 7:57–60). Saul was a well-educated man, but he couldn’t see the truth. However, when Saul was on the road to Damascus, Jesus got his attention, and he was never the same (Acts 9).

David, called “a man after God’s own heart” (Acts 13:22), was not perfect but made big mistakes as he did in 2 Samuel 11. David was a godly man who had many great victories, like when he defeated Goliath, but he was still a sinner.

God can use anyone

Throughout the Bible, God worked through imperfect people to accomplish great things.

I love every person in the Bible because, in them, I see me. Despite all of my imperfections, God can still use me and the same is true for you.

The power of the Word

I love every book of the Bible. All of the words feed my soul. They show me what I am and call me to be more.

They show me the love of God. They convict me of my sins, bring peace in the midst of life’s storms, and cause me to fall in love with Jesus all over again.

Spending time reading the Bible changes the way I think and helps me to grow in Christ.

The importance of Biblical teaching

I want to encourage you to listen to good, sound preachers and teachers.

I find people like Charles Stanley, Alistair Begg, Billy Graham, Joyce Meyer, Beth Moore, and Dr. David Jeremiah to be helpful.

Use their experiences and teachings, not only to learn but to cause you to seek a personal relationship with God. Don’t settle for second-hand faith.

If you don’t own a Bible, I encourage you to get one. The New Living Translation, New International Version, and Amplified Bible are easier to understand.

An open heart

I realize some people reading this will think they aren’t ready and that’s okay. There is no judgment here. All I’m suggesting is that you keep an open heart and mind.

It is not my desire to change you, but to point you to Christ.

Ask and it will be given to you; seek and you will find; knock and the door will be opened to you. For everyone who asks receives; the one who seeks finds; and to the one who knocks, the door will be opened. (Matthew 7: 7–8, NIV)

God loves you

But God demonstrates His own love for us in this: while we were still sinners, Christ died for us. (Romans 5:8, NIV)

You don’t have to change or be something you’re not before you can start. Just like Thomas, Jesus will meet you where you are.

Get to know Jesus. He’s everything.

This story is published in Koinonia — stories by Christians to encourage, entertain, and empower you in your faith, food, fitness, family, and fun.

We are a Smedian Publication. Find out about us and how to write for us.

--

--

Regina Neiswender
Koinonia

Just a regular girl trying to figure out life, hoping to help people along the way.