The Best Gardener on Earth

How God brings roses back to life

Brandon Swader
Koinonia
2 min readSep 2, 2020

--

Sometimes I feel as though I am a rose someone forgot to water.

I feel as though I have lost my zest for life, and instead of standing my rosebud high, I’m starting too slowing decaying, becoming a dead, and unwanted rose.

Sometimes I feel as though water wouldn’t even be enough to wake me up, or enough to cure my buds before they become irreparable, as they begin to fall to the ground, left there to either be blown by the wind, or stepped on, just so people can hear the crackle of my dried up legacy.

Sometimes, I believe even the best fertilizer wouldn’t save me from the overwhelming lack of motivation, which fills my veins as we speak.

My rose had the most thorns of any rose; appearing tough is the only defense against exploding in tears.

Just when it seemed like a never-ending somber story, God came around the corner, with a full watering can, the best fertilizer in the game, and some growth formula, and took the time to care for me, when no one else would even look in my general direction without a scowl.

However, God saving me wasn’t a surprise.

God not only loves the broken but works His absolute hardest to heal the broken.

Next time you feel as though you are on your last leg, remember God is right around the corner to spread his grace, glory onto you.

--

--