MORNING DEVOTIONS

The Best New Year Resolution

Revd Kevin Barnard
Koinonia
Published in
Jan 5, 2023

--

Gym equipment in a largely empty gym
Photo by Mark Bertulfo on Unsplash

New Year is a time for resolutions. A time to consider changes to our diet and exercise to benefit our physical health.

But what about our spiritual health?

We must not quit meeting together, as some are doing. No, we need to keep on encouraging each other. (Hebrews 10:25a, ERV)

One year I joined a gym. I signed up, paid my money, and did the induction course. But I never went! I had plenty of excuses. I was too busy. I was too tired. I had better things to do.

So despite belonging to a gym, I did not benefit physically.

The same is true for belonging to a church; we need to go to benefit spiritually.

But going to church doesn’t just benefit us. It benefits others too, as we encourage them when we meet together.

--

--

Revd Kevin Barnard
Koinonia

The personal thoughts of a Church of England vicar