The Bitter Side of Hope

Song lyrics for all those in the faith who have lost someone they love

Brad Creech
Koinonia
Published in
2 min readOct 22, 2021

--

“But we do not want you to be uninformed, brothers, about those who are asleep, that you may not grieve as others do who have no hope.” (1 Thessalonians 4:13, ESV).

What you will find below are the lyrics to a song I wrote two years ago. The theme of the song follows the loss of someone close and wrestles with that experience.

The bitter side of hope

There's a bitter side of hope
Because it means I'm not there yet
I'm fine with letting go
But I'm scared not to hold on
I'm afraid that I'll forget

I know the time will come for all of us
I didn't know for you it'd be so soon
How we take for granted those we love
I wasn't ready
I wasn't ready

I miss your smiling face
Though I know you're happier there
But the problem with the pain
Is not that you have gone away
It's that I am still left here

--

--

Brad Creech
Koinonia

Pastor - husband - father - author of The Dark Night of the Soul (https://a.co/d/am6tM6i)