micro-memoir

The Bully and the Bullied — I Was Both

Hurt people hurt people

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia
Published in
4 min readApr 5, 2021

--

It’s not easy to admit you were a bully.

But I was…once.

It happened in grade school. I was in grade 6 and Lori was in grade 4. We lived in the same neighbourhood and went to the same school.

But that was it for what we had in common.

A nice summer afternoon, I was in no hurry to get home after school. The walk was about 20 minutes at a regular pace. But as I said, I was in no hurry so I made it a full 40 minutes by walking obnoxiously slow.

And blocking Lori from walking past me.

When she would try to walk to my left, I would take a step sideways and block her. When she tried to walk to my right, I would do the same.

She had no option but to walk behind me. And walk slow.

I did this for the entire walk. I relished in the power. I loved the control I felt over her. I liked that she had to oblige me or suffer the consequences.

But in my defense, I wonder if the obnoxious behaviour of my grade 6 self toward a grade 4 girl was a learned behaviour?

Two years earlier, I had experienced bullying at the hands of a group of older girls.

--

--

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia

Jesus Follower. Oma. Author. Writing to help others grow closer to God. Download 5 Free Prayer Models at www.kimberleypayne.com/freebies/