The Flimsy Foolishness of Worldly Wisdom

The message of the Gospel appeals to the heart

Trudi Griffin
Koinonia

--

Photo by Kenny Eliason on Unsplash

During my first college experience, I took a senior seminar in philosophy. At that time in my life, I had rejected God, and the appeal of intellectualism made me feel important. Philosophy was something scholars studied and only the really smart people could handle it.

I wanted to be counted among the smart people. I don’t remember much about that class except for the heavy reading load. All the books were printed with small fonts, which probably contributed to the mystery. Much of it made no sense.

Although it’s been way too many years since that first experience with philosophy, I now understand why I didn’t understand it. I don’t think it’s meant to be understood. I think it’s meant to create confusion, cause one philosopher to feel superior to another, and for people to respond with awe about something “profound.”

Basically, some dude spends a lot of rumination time coming up with an argument or an idea that is different from everyone else so he can feel more important and gain some attention for a while for this “new idea.” But most of the “new ideas” are wispy, and they certainly don’t make anyone feel any better.

--

--

Trudi Griffin
Koinonia

Shining light in the darkness with words. Devoted to Jesus. Wife of a warrior. Small business owner. tenshimadeshop.etsy.com