The Folly of Counting Sheep

Linda Fode
Koinonia
Published in
3 min readMay 30, 2019
Photo by Gemma Evans at Unsplash

“The LORD is my shepherd; I shall not want. He makes me to lie down in green pastures; He leads me beside the still waters. He restores my soul; He leads me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s sake” (Psalm 23:1–3 NKJV).

“It is vain for you to rise up early, to sit up late, to eat the bread of sorrows; for so He gives His beloved sleep (Psalm 127: 2 NKJV).”

“Do not conform any longer to the patterns of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of. your mind (Romans 12:2 NIV).”

Awhile ago, I was teaching from Romans 12:1–2. I used an illustration of my current difficulties with getting to sleep and staying asleep.

One night I had less then three hours total sleep. I recounted all my attempts to use the ‘sleep hygiene’ techniques that current worldly wisdom recommends.

I counted backwards from 100!

I counted white, wooly, British sheep!

I kept the room cool and my feet warm.

I had no coffee after 7 p.m.

I played soft music and let my thoughts go like balloons.

I rebelled, however, against drinking warm milk and was eternally grateful that we don’t get ‘Horlicks’ here in Canada.

I had adopted the patterns of this world; not evil patterns but certainly not effective patterns.

My soul was trying to manage my soul with its racing thoughts, internal discussions and turbulent emotions.

I told the class that this insomnia needed a spiritual solution.

Following the class, one of the students shared her struggle with insomnia and the solution.

She goes to bed quietly speaking out Scripture that she had memorized , particularly Psalm 23.

I was humbled! Guess who had taught her to do that?

Guess who had taught her to allow her spirit to instruct and bring peace to her soul?

I decided to follow my own advice.

For several nights in a row, I quietly spoke out Psalm 23 or meditated on the reality of those verses in my life and speaking my gratitude to Father.

Warm, secure and safe beneath my duvet, I slept in perfect peace and woke refreshed.

These simple actions again became a pattern in my life. If I wake in the night I begin again to rehearse the truths of Psalm 23.

Often, I get through only a few verses and I am back to sleep.

One of the primary mentors in my life tells us to pull up from your spirit the strength, the comfort, the courage, the ………. you need.

I’m beginning to understand.

Don’t count sheep. Count on the Shepherd! He will get you to sleep.

Action Steps

Memorize Psalm 23

Speak it.

Reflect on it.

Pray it – Thank the Shepherd, Ask the Shepherd, Trust the Shepherd.

Go back to sleep.

Have a good night.

Virtually yours

linda

Photo by Kevin Cawley (slimninja) at Flicker

This story is published in Koinonia — stories by Christians to encourage, entertain, and empower you in your faith, food, fitness, family and fun.

We are a Smedian Publication. Find out about us and how to write for us.

--

--

Linda Fode
Koinonia

Writer,content creator,mentor and motivational speaker. Inspiring others to have a real relationship with God in their everyday lives.