JANUARY 2024 WORD PROMPT

The Freedom of Insignificance

Koinonia Prompt #15: Freedom

Trudi Griffin
Koinonia
Published in
3 min readJan 24, 2024

--

Photo by Lachlan Gowen on Unsplash

There was a time I wanted to be known.

I wanted my voice heard.

I thought what I had to say mattered or was somehow so profound it must be shared. I was right and if people would only listen, they would agree with me. They wouldn’t be able to help themselves because my utterings would be so profound.

External validation filled a craving for self-worth disguised as power.

Those were my feminist activist days and I thank the Lord all that happened before the Internet and social media could immortalize my arrogance.

The Blessing of Insignificance

In his book, “Crazy Love,” Francis Chan provides a beautiful glimpse at insignificance and why God’s love for us is so profound.

He said we are all specks.

Like the person in the role of extra in a movie who gathers family and friends to see them in it, but then has to pause the movie to show them because their presence is a mere blip.

In God’s story, we are all mere blips and there is nothing we can do about it.

--

--

Trudi Griffin
Koinonia

Shining light in the darkness with words. Devoted to Jesus. Wife of a warrior. Small business owner. tenshimadeshop.etsy.com