Behind the Scenes

The Making of a Children’s Book

The process I went through to create a book about animals in the Bible

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia
Published in
5 min readJan 28, 2022

--

Full cover of Animals in the Bible by the author.

When my daughter was in grade school she often regaled me with tales of animal facts.

She’d start with, “Mom, did you know…” and then went on to share with me the latest fascinating fact that she’d learned.

As a fundraiser for her to attend camp, we collected these tidbits together into a small book and published it through Lulu.com

Photo of book cover by the author.

What I liked about using this self-publishing service was the opportunity to upload the word document online, create a nice cover, and not have to order thousands of books. However, to order a few books was expensive.

The endeavor to fundraise failed and the project cost us money. However, it was a good learning opportunity for both my daughter and me.

Years later, I created a book series called Science & Faith Matters. This series was to introduce children to life sciences through Bible stories. I targeted it to 6-to 9-year-olds, for home or school use and classroom sharing in Grades 1–3 to…

--

--

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia

Jesus Follower. Oma. Author. Writing to help others grow closer to God. Download 5 Free Prayer Models at www.kimberleypayne.com/freebies/