The Mystery of God’s Provision: How God Shows You Where the Fish Are

When your best efforts aren’t enough, it’s time to reorder your priorities

Mary Gallagher
Koinonia

--

Jesus knows where your fish are; seek him. (image created in Copilot by author)

But seek first the kingdom of God and his righteousness, and all these things will be added to you. — (Matthew 6:33, ESV)

What happens when you seek God’s kingdom first? What does it look like to have all these things added to your life?

It means that Jesus will show you where your fish are when you follow him in obedience and love.

Peter and his fishing partners had been fishing all night and came up empty. Jesus was speaking to a morning crowd from Peter’s boat. After he finished his message, he was in the mood for a little bit of show-and-tell. Jesus told Peter to launch out again and cast his nets for a catch.

As a teen, I worked the night shift at my first job at Dunkin’ Donuts. I finished the donuts after they were baked. I quickly learned that my body was not cut out for the night shift. Weary and nauseous, I would crawl into bed and pray for a better job.

I have a little understanding of how Peter must have felt after fishing all night and then being asked to cast his nets again. I am sure all he wanted to do was fall into bed and sleep away the exhaustion and…

--

--

Mary Gallagher
Koinonia

I cut the stress, slowed down, and learned the art of intentional living. When you declutter your soul, you make room for what matters. @The Decluttered Soul