Poetry

The Narrow Way

Taking the lonely road

John Ross
Koinonia
Published in
Oct 20, 2020

--

Photo by John Thomas on Unsplash

I remember the days, full was the way
A lonely trip, I walked that day
We laughed and sang along the way
But as the path grew broader, I did not stay

For something greater, I was called today
I took a narrow path that way
Alone I was, the month of May
Oh, will it forever be this way?

My heart, it sank as I remembered the days
Of laughter and singing along the way
But times had changed and the path grew gray
It was time to find another way

It was narrow and lonely for a time that way
But it was full of hope and purpose that day
I walked the narrow road the rest of my days
And laughed and sang along that way

For hope had come, the sun, its rays
They shined on me and said to stay
For a rainbow it was around the bay
I cried with joy, the narrow way

--

--

John Ross
Koinonia

Writing stories, working in the NBA, & learning each day how to better love my neighbor — www.hellojohnwross.com