The Power of Three

Three is powerful in writing, working, and in the Bible

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia

--

Photo by Hanna Balan on Unsplash

This past weekend, I witnessed two phenomena that I’ve never seen before.

Three hummingbirds flew by me

Hummingbirds are not social birds and they usually only come together to mate or share a feeder. They don’t migrate in groups and don’t fly together.

I have a hummingbird feeder at home and have witnessed their behaviour in visiting and drinking at the dish feeder. They’ve fought and chased each other. But these three weren’t fighting. They just buzzed by in a group together and I lost sight of them in the woods.

Three Great Blue Herons flew over me

I live by a lake and when I visit the dock, I sometimes spot a Great Blue Heron in the tall reeds. One time, I got close enough in my kayak to snap a photo before it flew off.

These three birds flew together overhead. They looped in a circle so that they came over me twice. But by the time I grabbed my camera, they had flown too far away for a good picture.

Both experiences intrigued me. I’d never seen either bird in a group of three like that. A quick Internet search led me to symbolism, omens, and spiritual meanings.

--

--

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia

Jesus Follower. Oma. Author. Writing to help others grow closer to God. Download 5 Free Prayer Models at www.kimberleypayne.com/freebies/