SCRIPTURE PROMPT

The Promise of Providence

Do you really trust God when times are tough?

Jason Lim
Koinonia
Published in
4 min readMay 21, 2022

--

Image courtesy of AudreyC on Pixabay

I will restore to you the years that the swarming locust has eaten, the hopper, the destroyer, and the cutter, my great army, which I sent among you. You shall eat in plenty and be satisfied, and praise the name of the LORD your God, who has dealt wondrously with you. And my people shall never again be put to shame. (Joel 2:25–26, ESV)

My mom’s love language is through feeding me copious amounts of food. It’s not technically an official love language, per se, but it is the most conspicuous expression of her love for me. Strangely, she is also always badgering me to lose weight, as she force-feeds me a third helping of Korean braised short ribs. Having inherited that same maternal instinct, I wanted to return the favor.

Though I normally despise trite traditions, I abandoned all my contrarian tendencies to try and pull off the vaunted Mother’s Day Breakfast in Bed™. I had premeditated an ambitious liturgy of culinary offerings: Cooper River sockeye eggs benedict accented with dill cream, roasted garlic, and rosemary latkes, blueberry and rhubarb scones (homemade and pillowy, not like the dry pieces of dough you usually get), traditional french crepes with three different filling options (macerated strawberry compote…

--

--

Jason Lim
Koinonia

I am a sinner saved by grace. Somehow a pastor who uses words to bless others. INFJ and Enneagram 4.