The Song of Solomon Explained

The bride’s first love

Pastor Rich Bitterman
Koinonia

--

Image by Jupiterimages from Getty Images purchased by license on Canva Pro.

Why are love poems in the Bible? This section of the Song of Solomon is about a bridegroom and a bride who lost each other for a moment in time and all seemed lost.

The love poem

The story starts with a Shulamite woman who is the wife.

“I was asleep but my heart was awake. A voice! My beloved was knocking: ‘open to me, my sister, my darling, my dove, my perfect one! For my head is drenched with dew, my locks with the dew drops of the night,’” (Song of Solomon 5:2, NASB).

She is asleep, yet her heart is awake. Language that indicates she is recounting a dream.

Her groom, Solomon, traveled all night and arrives as the dew is starting to settle in the early morning. His voice serves as the knock on the door.

He calls his bride “sister.” This might seem strange to the western mind, but to him, it is a very intimate word. He describes her as his dove, who is undefiled and perfect.

“I have taken off my dress, How can I put it on again? I have washed my feet,
How can I dirty them again?” (Song of Solomon 5:3, NASB).

Caught off-guard, the bride’s answer back is a picture of slumber. Solomon arrived at an inconvenient hour and disturbed her in the middle…

--

--

Pastor Rich Bitterman
Koinonia

Offering Daily Christian Encouragement✨ Senior Pastor at Cedar Ridge Baptist Church in Galena, MO