The Thorn in Your Flesh

Could be the saving grace

Aderonke Awonusi
Koinonia
2 min readMay 31, 2024

--

I recall as a child, my parents grew one of the species of rose plants in our garden. While my siblings and I, love to pluck the pink beauty, we needed to contend with the sharp prickles around its stem.

Sometimes, I wonder what the life of a rose flower feels like.

So beautiful, yet she must adapt with the thorn in her flesh. This is not a temporary thorn that falls off in season, but the one that sticks closer, come rain or sunshine.

It might be safe to say that that the thorns were made for a purpose in the life of a rose plant. Typical of most thorns, they can help wade off predators. Perhaps, without the thorns, we might not have a rose flower. As soon as the first petal forms, it could have been plucked out.

Apostle Paul cried out three times, for the thorn in his flesh to be taken away (2nd Corinth 12:8), but we understand that the thorn was given to him by his maker.

Why? It was needed specifically for the fulfilment of his assignment. His thorn, though a bitter bill, was an enabler, not a destroyer.

Painful, Uncomfortable, Tormenting!

Yes, with many fervent prayers, some issues will still remain unresolved.

This might not sound like the regular motivational message, but some crosses are meant to be borne.

However, we are comforted with the words of Jesus;

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may rest upon me. (2nd Corinthians 12:9, NIV)

--

--

Aderonke Awonusi
Koinonia

Godlover, Unashamed of the Gospel of Christ. HR Pro & Writer. I am passionate about sharing the gospel of Jesus Christ through Storytelling..