Three Lies I Once Believed About Writing

And the lessons I’ve learned through them

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia
Published in
3 min readMay 1, 2021

--

I should start by saying that these are lies I told myself. No one else actually voiced these things to me. I’d just, somehow, came to believe them on my own.

The first lie that I grew up believing was that I wasn’t creative.

I thought that just because I couldn’t draw like my uber-talented brother, Andrew, this made me unimaginative.

My best artwork was a stick figure person standing beside a square house with smoke billowing from the crooked chimney. I equated artistic talent with creativeness.

I have since learned that creativity is not confined to a paintbrush. Creativity is not limited to the graphic arts but can be found in visual arts, business, and writing. Yes, writing.

This leads me to the second lie.

I believed that in order to be a good writer I had to write fiction.

I had to create something out of thin air and put it on paper. I had to make up material that had never existed, scenarios I’d never experienced, situations I’d never tried. I had to come up with something that had never been done before.

I didn’t realize that by writing about my experiences, my past, my memories, I could…

--

--

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia

Jesus Follower. Oma. Author. Writing to help others grow closer to God. Download 5 Free Prayer Models at www.kimberleypayne.com/freebies/