Tickles

The taste of poison

Aderonke Awonusi
Koinonia
2 min readMay 10, 2024

--

The first touch was at the back of my neck,

It felt good, but I wasn’t just in the mood.

Moreover, it was the wrong timing.

I did not wake up so early to be touched,

It’s my special date with my Abba father.

So, I simply brushed his hands off.

The second touch was more intense,

Quite intentional than the first.

It was right at the back of my ears.

He obviously knew the most sensitive part of my body,

Yet I remained unperturbed.

No one, and I mean nothing, will distract me from my early morning
prayers.

Again, I gave a hard pat, so much I felt the sting on my own cheeks.

This, at least, should send out an obvious message.

I hope it did!

Still, came another touch.

Then a pinch, More like a bite,

Right up in my thighs.

Can anyone please explain to me,

What part of NO does he not understand?

I totally freaked out!

In fury, I clenched my fist, then, exercised my fingers.

I landed him the most intense slap ever,

That dreadful one that should reset anyone’s brain.

It was so intense I felt the sting on my skin as the chills went down my own spine.

At that moment, I realised I must have overreacted.

The damage done is quite irrevocable!

The splash of blood on my palm, the smashed body parts.

The disjointed arms and legs

The last breath…..

It’s the death of another mosquito!

Can a man scoop fire into his lap without his clothes being burned? Can a man walk on hot coals without his feet being scorched? So is he who sleeps with another man’s wife; no one who touches her will go unpunished. (Proverbs 6:27–19, NIV)

--

--

Aderonke Awonusi
Koinonia

Godlover, Unashamed of the Gospel of Christ. HR Pro & Writer. I am passionate about sharing the gospel of Jesus Christ through Storytelling..