Tiny Tim and Jesus Wake Up Grinchy Scrooges on Christmas

And children are the essential ingredient

Sheryll James
Koinonia

--

A black and white photo of an elderly man with sad eyes and a white beard encased in a red and green frame and a thorn-like crown
Image by Leroy Skalstad from Pixabay (cropped and edited by author)

I can’t tell you when or why I began disdaining the holidays. I carry a Yuletide mood akin to layers of gray ashes caked on the gritty chimney of my not-so-jovial yesteryears.

My “Ho Ho Ho” is more like “No, no, NO!” as I realize it’s time to paste on my phony jolly “Santa-tude” and act like I’m rejoicing amid the exhausting hustle-bustle of the season.

Yes, it’s time to grin and bear the hoards of the gleeful people-elves who spin around in dizzying circles and sound like a flock of honking Christmas geese.

During the holidays, I lock away my “Scrooga-tude” for fear of being accosted by a hoard of Christmas-loving lunatics who think their delightful spirit will magically infect everyone with glitzy glitter.

But to me, their weeks of coughing holly-jollies in my face seem more like a dreadful virus. And it takes me longer to recover from the yuletide than to get over a nasty flu bug.

I have a brain full of pragmatism and can’t comprehend why so many get sucked into the insanity vortex of Christmas delirium. I want to scream and shout:

“Can’t you see how Christmas wastes precious time, money, and energy?! And what gives you the

--

--

Sheryll James
Koinonia

Desire to scatter my winsome wisdom before my ashes are scattered. Top Writer in psychology—retired physical therapist and mental health counselor.