To Broken Vessels And Empty Wells

You are not far from home

Esther Serwaa Akoto
Koinonia
1 min readSep 11, 2023

--

Photo by ERNEST TARASOV on Unsplash

Restore me back to Your presence
Restore me back to Koinonia
Where my heart longed for You
And my soul searched for You
There, I set my gaze upon You
And knew who I was
The very image of God.

Then from my mother’s womb
I opened my eyes, but couldn’t see
Heard many sounds, but not Your voice
I was fed, but not by Your words
Thirsty for Your springs of life.

So I conform to this nature
Humanity’s greatest woe
Searching for satisfaction
In broken vessels and empty wells
Left in this dry and weary land
To seek meaning for my soul.

At the break of dawn
Death sets his gaze on me
Nine floors above the shadows of death
There, I heard the voice of the Father
Calling me by my name, “Esther!”
A voice from Koinonia
Drawing me back home.

--

--