To Pass the Test, You’ve Got to Study

You can’t study from notes you don’t have

Connie Mae Inglis
Koinonia
4 min readFeb 4, 2022

--

Photo by Gleb Vasylynka on Pexels.com

Recently, my husband of 35 years told me a story from high school I’d never heard before — a story with a good lesson for us in our spiritual walk.

Hubby enjoyed Trigonometry class, even though his teacher was a bit quirky. Every now and then, this teacher would stop his teaching, often in mid-sentence, turn to the chalkboard, and write these letters on the board: “YCSFNYDH.” Then he’d continue teaching.

What? The students didn’t need to ask. They knew because this teacher had explained this acronym by then: “You Can’t Study From Notes You Don’t Have!”

Class attendance is a must

How true. When the big tests arrive, how can you pass if you don’t study? And how can you study from notes you don’t have? In other words, pay attention in class and take notes.

In comparing this story to our spiritual lives, the “classroom” would be our time with God. I like the morning. Some people prefer the evening. It really doesn’t matter WHEN you spend time in God’s classroom. It’s just important that you do it!

And the taking notes part? Well, I’d compare that to journaling — meditating on what God’s Word is saying to you at that moment and writing it down as a record of God’s personal interaction. Not with anyone else. Just you!

There are also lots of tools out there for “taking notes.” I’ve tried different options shared by friends and family. But I use a yearly journal.

A few of my journals.

I don’t color-code or categorize entries. I write chronologically. If there’s something that jumps out at me specifically in my journal writing, I’ll underline it or put an asterisk beside it. But that’s it. That’s what works for me. So, figure out what’s works for you and just do it!

Tests will come

In God’s Word, Jesus tells us that tests will come.

I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world. (John16:33, NIV)

Jesus shares His insights as the Son of God to give us peace. Then He gives us two promises: 1. The promise of trouble. (A promise we don’t really like to hear); 2. The greater promise that He has overcome the world and in that, we can take heart.

In fact, there are many more such promises that will help us stand firm in our faith.

According to idisciple.org, there are over 7,000 promises to mankind in God’s Word.

Photo by me

Take a vitamin

If we compared God’s promises to a one-a-day vitamin and studied and prayed one promise a day, it would take us 22 years to complete. That’s a lot of journals full of promises from God. And that’s 22 years of added boost to our spiritual health. That’s also just one example of what to meditate on and note in your journal — one way to help us pass life’s tests!

In his book, Hearing God in Conversation, Samuel C. Williamson says this:

“…if Scripture is about God, we read it to meet God. …when we meet the person of God in Scripture, then we finally have a voice we can recognize in the murky alleys and lanes of our everyday life.”

And, I would add, in the tests of life.

Let me close with God’s words to Joshua before Joshua leads the Israelites into the promised land:

Keep this Book of the Law always on your lips; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful. Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be afraid; do not be discouraged, for the Lord your God will be with you wherever you go. (Josh. 1:8,9 NIV)

Yes, and Amen!

--

--