The Book of Judges: Bible Overview

Understanding Israel’s Colossal Failure in the Book of Judges: Beyond Disobedience

Lessons on Culture and National Identity

J. Muir Warhammer
Koinonia
Published in
6 min readMar 14, 2023

--

Photo by Sander Sammy on Unsplash

F is for failure. F in the grading sheet is a judgment against a person’s skill, attitude, and character. Fail in Math and you’re not smart enough. Fail in English and Social Studies and you’re not trying hard enough. Because everyone seems to get it except you. It is always about the individual. Never about the teacher, the system, or the crowd.

On the other hand, we measure ourselves against a standard. There is a law whether we like it or not. Ignorance of the rules doesn’t save us from its consequences. Bedrooms and kitchens ought to be tidy and in order. We need to do our chores.

Growing up, my assigned task was to feed two dogs. After dinner, I was responsible for the leftovers. Cooked rice grains, bits of vegetables, fish bones, soup, and meat scraps, were pushed out from dinner plates and dumped into one big bowl. And I scamper to the back of the house to feed Rambo. And then, off I go, as fast as my 8-year-old legs could propel me to the front, near the gate, to feed a mongrel named Cheeky. Hated that job because it interfered with my TV schedule. The glory days before the Internet.

--

--

J. Muir Warhammer
Koinonia

I'm a centrist, a political Swiss Army knife. Intersections in Politics, Science, and Religion, I'm a tour guide. Blurring lines: Judeo-Christian- Islam. Right?