Scripture Prompt

What a Scottish Sprinter Taught Me about Pleasing God

Scripture prompt: Romans 12:1–2

Michael Ranjitsingh
Koinonia
Published in
5 min readSep 13, 2021

--

I love the movie ‘Chariots of Fire’. It's based on the true story of Eric Lidell, a Scottish Christian who runs for the glory of God. There is a moving scene in the middle of the film where his sister accuses him of no longer caring about God. Lidell then explains why running means so much to him.

“I believe that God made me for a purpose. But He also made me fast, and when I run, I feel His pleasure.”

These powerful lines have remained in my heart since then.

Understanding God’s purpose

Something every Christian should strive for is to understand our purpose in this world. God has a plan for each one of us and nothing in this world happens by accident.

‘For I know the plans I have for you,’ declares the Lord, ‘plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you a hope and a future.’ (Jeremiah 29:11, NIV)

In ‘Chariots of Fire’, Lidell understands his purpose on earth is to serve China as a missionary. Acknowledging it is a bold act of faith. China is miles away from his home and his comforts. He would…

--

--

Michael Ranjitsingh
Koinonia

Creator, writer, and dreamer. Specialize in writing articles about Relationships, Love, Poetry, and Christianity. Dad, husband, and child of God.