What Do We Do When a Storm is Too Strong?

A reflective poem

Helen Olivier
Koinonia
2 min readJun 12, 2019

--

I heard Your voice called out to me,
Come walk here on the water,
And I got out and walked with you,
I left the boat behind.

I saw Your face and knew the joy,
To walk in faith alone,
The storms around were in Your hand,

My trust was placed in You.

But then the waves broke over me,
I feared that I might drown,
The waves of loneliness were first,
That swept right over me.

And then the waves came one by one,
I thought that I would drown,
I heard Your voice call out to me,

Just keep your eyes on Me.

But far behind I saw the boat,
Its comfort beckoned me,
And I looked up and pleaded Lord,
Please let me just go back.

I’m tired, weary all alone,
The waves are just so big,
How can I reach a hand to those,
Who’s drowning in this sea,
If waves are washing over me?

And I am just too weak.

And I remember words I said,
Lord, I will never leave,
If all will leave Your side,
I’ll stay, for You’re my all in all.

But can I hear the rooster crow,
Am I the one to flee?

And will You Lord still treasure me,
If once again I fail?

I love You, Lord, You know its true,
Yes, three times I will say,
But in the boat, I long to be,
Forgive me, Lord, I pray.

This story is published in Koinonia — stories by Christians to encourage, entertain, and empower you in your faith, food, fitness, family and fun.

We are a Smedian Publication. Find out about us and how to write for us.

--

--

Helen Olivier
Koinonia

An ordinary women called by an extraordinary God to spread His love and write when the Spirit moves my heart.