What Does ‘Glory’ Mean?

In the Bible, the word glory is used over 600 times

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia
Published in
3 min readJul 7, 2023

--

Photo by Alex Shute on Unsplash

When I became a born-again Christian, I became a new person. And with this new life, I had to learn a different vocabulary. Words I thought I understood took on new meaning. One of those words was the term “glory.”

The word “glory” is used over 600 times in the Bible. It’s a difficult word to translate from the original languages of Hebrew, Aramaic, and Greek because it has so many meanings. It can indicate worth and value, but it also refers to God’s greatness. It describes how Christians can be changed and it’s also a synonym for heaven. It can be used as an adjective that gives honor, dignity, and majesty to God but it can also be used as a verb as well.

Some ways in which I’ve seen the word glory used in the Bible include, “In all His glory”, “Show me Your glory”, “From glory to glory”, “Comes in His glory” and “Give glory to God.”

In all His glory

Jesus used this term in Matthew 6:29 (NASB)

yet I say to you that not even Solomon in all his glory clothed himself like one of these.

In this manner, the word glory is used to express the worth and value of something in terms of importance and power. It is a good opinion or judgement of someone’s character…

--

--

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia

Jesus Follower. Oma. Author. Writing to help others grow closer to God. Download 5 Free Prayer Models at www.kimberleypayne.com/freebies/