When God Has Other Plans for You

We need to be willing to change direction when the Lord speaks

Jacquelyn Lynn
Koinonia
Published in
7 min readMar 27, 2021

--

changing direction when the Lord speaks
Image created by Jacquelyn Lynn using MockupShots

Sometimes God whispers. Sometimes He speaks loud and clear. And sometimes we don’t want to hear what He has to say. But when we listen and are obedient, amazing things happen.

Kim M. Clark is a perfect example of this test of faith. Here’s an edited transcript of our recent interview.

Jacquelyn Lynn: How did you come to write your book, Deep Waters: Lift Your Gaze?

Kim M. Clark: As our family walked through a trial, the Lord told me to write a book of the sweet words of comfort He spoke to me. Writing was the last thing I wanted to do. I’ve been a college marketing instructor, public speaker, and business owner. I’m not gifted at writing — my husband is. I even have him proofread my emails. I’m gifted at teaching.

I told God, “You’ve called the wrong woman.”

I pouted and behaved like a child, telling God what he was asking me to do was like having a duck climb a tree. God made squirrels to climb trees, not ducks. Toward the end of my tantrum, I prayed.

The Lord then showed me a picture of a palm tree growing perpendicular to the ground with a duck waddling up the trunk. And I heard Him say, “See, I can even make trees grow crooked to…

--

--

Jacquelyn Lynn
Koinonia

Inspirational author, business ghostwriter. Need some great quotes? Get “A Book of Proverbs: Wisdom of the Ages” free. Download at CreateTeachInspire.com/wisdom