Scripture prompt

When Jesus Calls—It’s Personal

When Jesus calls, it’s never random but intentional

Trip Kimball
Koinonia
Published in
6 min readFeb 20, 2020

--

Photo by Austin Mabe on Unsplash

Have you ever wondered what it was like to encounter Jesus when He walked on the earth? I have.

Imagine what it was like to hear His authoritative voice as he taught the crowds on the edge of the Sea of Galilee and to see His powerful touch when He healed people and set others free from evil spirits.

When I read the Bible, I like to take my time and even imagine myself present in the story itself. Of course, I can only mentally enter the scene but I like to imagine myself in the story looking around at all that’s going on.

The Jesus of the movies

A few movies on the life of Jesus portray Him in a somewhat other-worldly sense as if it was obvious to all He was the Jewish Messiah. But that’s not how I imagine Him. It seems Jesus didn’t stand out by His appearance.

When He was arrested in the Garden of Gethsemane, Judas Iscariot betrayed Him with a kiss to point Him out to the soldiers. Some illustrations show Jesus with light radiating out from Him. If that was so, couldn’t Judas have said, “Just look for the guy who shines in the dark?”

The Jesus of the Bible

--

--

Trip Kimball
Koinonia

I’m a seasoned pastor, missionary, and writer committed to making what is abstract and conceptual, simple and clear. I also write at– www.tripkimball.com