When You’re in a Fix, Do This

When you find yourself in a desperate situation with no possible way out, adopt this principle.

Oludare E. Mustapha (D. T. R.)
Koinonia
2 min readJul 21, 2023

--

Image by Mandy Fontana from Pixabay

I vividly recall a time when I was struggling to pay my rent, and my landlady’s constant reminders were crushing my spirit.

The threat of a quit notice loomed over me, and I felt utterly helpless. I was in dire need of assistance, stuck in a fix!

Then I went on my knees in prayers to ask the Lord for help based on this scripture:

I lift up my eyes to the mountains— where does my help come from? My help comes from the Lord, the Maker of heaven and earth (Psalm 121:1-2, NIV)

He then spoke from Matthew 17:27 and explained to me: “There’s a fish you need to catch, and inside its mouth, you will find the money to settle your debt.”

I didn’t understand what he meant, so I kept on praying based on this:

"Do not be anxious about anything, but in every situation, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God." (Philippians 4:6, NIV)

As I persisted in prayer, an unexpected sense of victory washed over me, bringing a calm and peaceful stillness to my spirit.

"And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus." (Philippians 4:7, NIV)

Filled with gratitude and praise, I stopped my prayers and focused on giving thanks to God, trusting that He would provide a way out.

The very next day, my Head of Department in church called me and informed me that I was selected for a short commercial project and would be paid for it. I had no idea how much they would pay.

I prayed Monday evening, and I remember telling my fiancée by faith that I would balance up by Friday. The commercial was scheduled for Thursday.

I went for the commercial and the shoot was a great success.

After getting back from the shoot, I got an alert, and lo and behold, I was paid the exact amount I needed to clear my debt.

So, I didn’t have to wait until Friday; I balanced up right there on Thursday evening.

That's when the Holy Spirit made it clear that the commercial was the metaphorical fish he helped me to catch, which provided the money I needed.

This experience taught me a valuable lesson: in moments of despair, with seemingly no way out, all we need to do is talk to Jesus in earnest prayers, and the peace that transcends understanding will guard our hearts and minds. By giving thanks and praising Him, we can witness miraculous turnarounds and solutions beyond our imagination.

Mine is just an example.

Your testimony is the next!

Leggo!

--

--