Where Do We Hide When Our World is Falling Apart?

Simple thoughts about where we find safety

Connie Mae Inglis
Koinonia
2 min readMar 4, 2022

--

Photo by Ahmed Akacha on Pexels

Our world is a mess. On that we can all agree. It is easy to become overwhelmed as the media and social media inundates us with words and images of horror and pain.

Men and women and children looking for a place to hide, both physically and emotionally. Will they ever find that place?

I know God doesn’t chastise or judge me for my questions. In fact, I’ve learned that if I’m really listening to God and for God in the questions, He will reveal Himself.

I am hiding

God did just that for me recently. I was sitting in my favourite chair, sipping my coffee one morning. We’re still in the throes of winter here on the Canadian prairies so the world outside is often quite silent.

But on this morning I heard the chirping of birds outside my window. Little sparrows singing away in one of my bushes. Tried as I might to locate them, I couldn’t. They were hiding. But that didn’t hinder their song, and the joy I felt in that moment. Then an old nursery rhyme came to mind:

“I’m hiding, I’m hiding
And no one knows where;
For all they can see is my
Toes and my hair…”

And then I thought about hiding and where the safest place is for me, for you, for anyone, to hide. That place is in Jesus. For only in Jesus can we be truly safe.

“You are my hiding place;
you will protect me from trouble
and surround me with songs of deliverance.” (Psalm 32:7, NIV)

So, I changed the words to the old nursery rhyme and even put it to a tune but for now, I’ll just share the poem.

I’m hiding, I’m hiding

I’m hiding, I’m hiding and I’ll tell you where,
In the sweet arms of Jesus, you’ll find me there;
Come seek and hide with me, under His care,
I’m hiding, I’m hiding, I’ll tell you where.

I’m hiding, I’m hiding, under His care,
With storms all around me, Jesus is there;
He holds me gently, He hears my prayer,
I’m hiding, I’m hiding, under His care.

I’m hiding, I’m hiding, come hide with me there,
For Jesus He loves you, He’ll hear your prayer,
In trials and troubles, Your burden He’ll bear,
We’ll be hiding, sweet hiding, under His care.

--

--