Bible Study

Why Are Personal Testimonies So Powerful?

Day 32 in Mark Batterson's “Draw the Circle — “Get a Testimony”

Janis Cox
Koinonia
Published in
4 min readNov 6, 2019

--

Unsplash by Buffer.

Personal testimonies are powerful

When I was frustrated with my faith life, God led me to a Baptist church in a bordering city. The music stirred my soul. After the message, there were two testimonies before baptism. I had never heard a testimony before.

My heart felt strangely emotional. Something was happening inside me.

I wanted what they had expressed.

From that moment on I prayed and searched for a church like that in my city. And God led me to a church, through a friend. The rest is history.

Suffice to say, I am following Jesus and my life has changed.

Sharing

Sharing our personal stories of faith is powerful. When we get answered prayers we need to shout it out. If we keep it to ourselves it can’t be known. And we need to make sure we see it as answered prayer and thank the Lord for answering.

Four important points

  1. Give God the glory.
  2. Others need to hear your…

--

--

Janis Cox
Koinonia

Creativity Spiritual Catalyst. Author/Illustrator. Jesus follower. Growing Through God's Word FB group for reading the Bible. janiscox.com