Why Do Fights Start and How to Stop Them

A lesson that I have to keep learning

Janis Cox
Koinonia
Published in
3 min readFeb 27, 2019

--

The other day I was not like Jesus at all. With all my reading, studying and reflecting, I let my tiredness and emotions let go full force. Where did they go? Of course, they went towards the one I love.

That reminded me of another time, another situation years ago.

I remember years ago hearing a racket in our upstairs bedroom. Two voices were screeching at one another. Cries. Yells. The culprits were two eight-year-olds ready to battle it out. As I reached the bedroom, I saw them sitting on the bed clawing at each other.

“Stop,” I said. “What’s going on here. A minute ago you were playing quietly and having fun.”

My daughter looked up at me and started to rant at her friend. I sat down between them and asked where this whole argument had come from.

There was silence. She sheepishly said, “Over that bag of chips.”

Sure enough on the bed was an almost finished bag of potato chips.

https://pixabay.com/vectors/bag-chips-crisps-junk-food-2029481/

--

--

Janis Cox
Koinonia

Creativity Spiritual Catalyst. Author/Illustrator. Jesus follower. Growing Through God's Word FB group for reading the Bible. janiscox.com