Why Dreams Are Important

And what Christians can do about them

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia
Published in
3 min readJan 8, 2024

--

Photo by Johannes Plenio on Unsplash

Every night I have at least one dream I remember upon waking. Many dreams are vivid in my memory, with details remaining in my thoughts hours after I get out of bed.

Years ago, I recalled a series of dreams with interpretations I felt the Lord had spoken to my heart. I wrote about each of these and included them in a devotional called Leisure Time — Stories to Grow Your Faith*.

I continue to be entertained through my night stories, although I haven’t received any clear revelations about their meanings since that original series.

Most recently, I’ve had a few disturbing dreams that prompted me to go online to find what the “expert” interpretations are.

Dream about bugs in the eye

In this dream, when I pulled down my lower eyelid, I could see several squirming black bugs. They irritated my eye, especially when one would crawl onto the white of my eye.

It still makes me twitch when I think about this dream.

Searching the Internet, I came across many interpretations. However, the most frequent interpretation stated this type of dream may represent thoughts of irritation and anxiety.

Dream about losing shoes

--

--

Kimberley Payne
Koinonia

Jesus Follower. Oma. Author. Writing to help others grow closer to God. Download 5 Free Prayer Models at www.kimberleypayne.com/freebies/