Scripture Prompt

Why Humanizing an Omnipotent God Will Disrupt Our Faith

Even our Nobel prize winners cannot think like God

Verbieann Hardy
Koinonia
Published in
5 min readOct 29, 2022

--

a glowing ball representing earth
Photo by Milad Fakurian on Unsplash

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,” declares the LORD”. (Isaiah 55:8, NIV)

The symbolism of the ripped curtain in the Temple during the crucifixion never fails to make me grateful. There are no barriers to my communication with God. An ordinary woman like me can talk directly to the Creator of our universe. In this relationship, it is certainly blasphemous to think that such familiarity would breed contempt.

However, I do find myself attributing to a holy God human motives and expectations.

In Isaiah 55:8, God reminds us that “his thoughts are not ours.” Indeed, He emphasized the difference in our mindset by declaring:

“As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts. (Isaiah 55:9, NIV)

With the benefit of age, I can see the wisdom of some of the actions of my parents, but as a child, I often questioned what they were thinking. Mortals cannot hope to have the same thoughts as their Heavenly Father.

--

--

Verbieann Hardy
Koinonia

Striving to follow Jesus. I write about life, faith, and relationships as I age with grateful grit. Please support my work through Ko-fi.com/eclectic stories.