Scripture Prompt

Your Heart Matters more than Abilities in the Kingdom of God

We, like Moses, can't progress without God’s presence

Verbieann Hardy
Koinonia
Published in
4 min readSep 26, 2022

--

A mountain tinged with red on the peaks.
Photo by Vincent Ledvina on Unsplash

“I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the Lord, in your presence. I will have mercy on whom I will have mercy, and I will have compassion on whom I will have compassion”. (Exodus 33:19, NIV)

Feelings of doubt- even confusion and unworthiness threaten to swamp me when I read this verse. Why would the Omnipotent God show me all his goodness and then declare that his mercy and compassion depend on his whims?

Well, this wasn’t about me?

It is a story about Moses’ conversation with God after breaking the first two tablets.

Moses never felt he was good enough as Israel’s deliverer. He was initially reluctant to return to Pharaoh to negotiate the release of the Israelites. He doubted his ability to lead them to the promised land. Despite their disloyalty, distrust, and disobedience, Moses refused to go forward unless God’s presence remained.

In an effort to reassure him, God promised “I will cause all my goodness to pass in front of you, and I will proclaim my name, the Lord, in your presence.”

--

--

Verbieann Hardy
Koinonia

Striving to follow Jesus. I write about life, faith, and relationships as I age with grateful grit. Please support my work through Ko-fi.com/eclectic stories.