3 Underrated Tools for Learning Japanese

You can get started with each one for free, so what do you have to lose?

Anthony Griffin
Kokoro Media

--

Those who have been following my Japanese journey know that I rely heavily on technology to augment my learning. This means that I’m always experimenting with the latest apps and software to make the process as efficient as possible. I use many of these programs simultaneously. For example, the Wanikani and Bunpro services go hand in hand for tackling kanji and grammar, respectively.

Sometimes, however, I discover new programs that replace something in my current toolset. When using technology to support your learning, don’t get overly attached to a particular product or service. Be prepared to switch platforms if something that works better for you enters the marketplace. With all of this in mind, here are three powerful pieces of software that I’ve been experimenting with in recent years.

1. Kitsun.io

  • Platform: web (mobile apps coming soon)
  • Price: from $5.42/month (billed annually) to $199.99/lifetime (one-time payment); free 14-day trial

I actually stumbled across Kitsun.io during its free open beta period. At that time, I realized that this digital flashcard app had potential, but the interface, design, and feature…

--

--

Anthony Griffin
Kokoro Media

Founder and principal consultant (www.consultsaga.com) helping Japan-based organizations market to and communicate with international audiences.