Getting along with Japanese Neighbors with Gifts

Amélie Geeraert
Kokoro Media
Published in
3 min readMar 14, 2024

--

No later than last night, I took part in the economic exchange known as bartering.

In the Japanese countryside, exchanging goods between neighbors or members of the same community is very common. People produce all sorts of products in their gardens. Exchanging fruits and vegetables with each other is a convenient way to prevent spoilage, diversify your food intake, and keep good relationships with others.

Similarly, last night, I bartered food against other food. I exchanged some extra hotpot I could not finish eating on my own for a kilo of frozen French fries. However, this did not happen in the Japanese countryside, but right in the middle of Tokyo. The reason is I am adept at the never-ending gift exchange practice with my neighbors.

Way before I lived in Japan, I had read in a book that it was customary to introduce yourself to your neighbors and give them a small gift when you move in. So, wanting to do things right (and probably motivated by the complex of trying to be a “good foreigner”), I have always done so. That is the start of my happy relationships with my neighbors. It took me a few years to realize that just a small gift does go a long way, but not for the reason I expected. “I was very surprised when you came to introduce yourself and gave me a gift the first time. To be honest, people in…

--

--

Amélie Geeraert
Kokoro Media

Living in Japan since 2011. I love interviewing inspiring people.