Promoting Inclusiveness in Japan On Instagram — An Interview With Kizu Takami

Amélie Geeraert
Kokoro Media
Published in
8 min readMar 12, 2024

--

Kizu Takami is the creator of Universal Movement. This Instagram account promotes a better understanding and acceptance of people with disabilities in Japanese society. To do so, she uses colorful illustrations and easy-to-read explanations. I have interviewed her to know more about her mission, her creative process, and her point of view about the place of people with disabilities in Japan.

Universal Movement’s Mission

How did you get the idea to create “Universal Movement”?

When I was a university student, I wanted to become a schoolteacher. There was a class that consisted of giving help in a special needs school for two days. I helped in a school for children with intellectual disabilities and got really interested in this field. I then decided to study special needs education, and I am now working in a special needs school for children with visual disabilities.

Four years ago, I suddenly thought I wanted to change Japanese people’s negative perceptions regarding disabilities. There is a kind of taboo atmosphere surrounding this topic. Even when it is brought up, it quickly ends up being talked of negatively, such as “It seems hard,” “It’sso much suffering,” or “It’s not my problem.” This makes it harder for people…

--

--

Amélie Geeraert
Kokoro Media

Living in Japan since 2011. I love interviewing inspiring people.