Why “Japanese English” Confuses Me

Amélie Geeraert
Kokoro Media
Published in
4 min readMar 13, 2024

--

Aside from writing articles on Kokoro Media, I am also involved in consulting jobs, which has led me to discover the world of business in Japanese. Over the years, I have been learning business words in Japanese, some of which are related specially to my field, and some seem to be reflecting the local trends.

Among these words, there is a special kind of “Japanese English” that, I have recently realized, is starting to confuse me. By “Japanese English,” I mean what is called wasei eigo.

There are roughly three types of English you can encounter in Japan:

  • Badly translated English and other mysterious-looking English, most commonly known under the pejorative name “Engrish.”
  • Words that are gairaigo, or loan words from other languages. Some Japanese words come from English and are written in katakana. For example, “esukareta” for “escalator.”
  • Expressions that are English sounding, but are completely made in Japan, often by combining simple English words that most people have heard of. This is called wasei eigo, or English made in Japan.

Being born in France, I was already familiar with English words and expressions perceived as “cool” and “modern” before coming to Japan. This is even more true in the media, fashion, marketing, and business in general. The young…

--

--

Amélie Geeraert
Kokoro Media

Living in Japan since 2011. I love interviewing inspiring people.