A short note on lessons learnt by an EP/VPark Alumni.

Kola A.
Kola Aina
Published in
4 min readJul 25, 2017

When I started my first company over 10 years ago, I was a very emotional dude.

As I would bring new team members onboard, I was always also afraid to see them leave. Letting people go was very tough for me (nearly impossible), I would typically make excuses for them and blame myself for their shortcomings, and when they resigned it was even harder to move on.

From day 1 I viewed team members as family.

Overtime though I have grown. This growth has largely being due to my understanding of the place of purpose. These days I am a keen proponent of pursuing purpose and I now understand that people must only occupy roles that align with their purpose or that puts them on the part to fulfilling their life’s purpose, gives happiness and provides fulfillment — per-time.

While my view of team members as family members hasn't changed, this now means that I am less emotional about exits. These days I 1st seek to understand the “why.” Usually I am especially happy over an exit, if it is to enable the “exiter” better fulfill their life’s purpose or their personal passion.

And so, when Emmanuel wrote me an email explaining that he was moving on to pursue a career in HR I felt this way. I felt so because, all along I had figured Emmanuel to be an administrative guy and more of a tactical person. He had started off his career in administrative services at EP and then moved on to managing facilities and events at VPark. And so when he explained his passion for strategic HR it all made sense. One evening before his last day we took time to have drinks together and he shared with me valuable lessons he had learnt while working at EP & VPark. I was so touched by his sincerity and the clarity of his learnt convictions that I asked him to share same in an email.

Emmanuel was gracious enough to share his lessons and with his permission I now share them with you, hoping you learn something.

Best,

Kola

PS: I am especially happy to see some things I have written about reflected in Emmanuels notes.

Emmanuel’s lessons learnt (as sent via email)

This lesson I learned at work. Working at Ventures Park (and for the boss Kola Aina) for the last three years has been a learning experience that I would not change for the world. It’s been a roller coaster ride of ups and downs (with more ups) that’s taught me life lessons I feel I should share. So, without further ado, here’s my top lessons;

1. The “small” things matter; those things that you rarely pay attention to; how early you get to work, your enthusiasm to new projects, your relationship with your coworkers, your positivity, your dressing. It all matters!

2. Ownership; Treat each aspect of the business like it’s yours, because it is! You’re the CEO of your role, handle it like one. Would you pay X amount for your car to be serviced when there’s someone equally good and not as expensive? No? Then don’t do that for the business. Diligence, overtime, leads to results. There’s nothing an employer loves more than an employee that values the business like its theirs… okay maybe profit.

3. Start it, close it; There’s no story here. Just deliver your tasks EXCELLENTLY and on TIME.

4. Excellence is a business strategy; “the quality of being outstanding”. Need I say more? There’s a marketplace (in Nigeria) for businesses that can handle their work outstandingly, deliver products, and services that are world class. Individually, handling your duties in this same manner, that is being outstanding, yields that same result. More people would rather work with you.

5. Curiosity is good; Know the “Why” and everything becomes easier. “why do we do this this way?” “why is this process tedious?” etc. When we can question and fully understand why and how a task, role, product or service works, then we can also think of ways to make it better.

6. Proactiveness; “serving to prepare for, intervene in, or control an expected occurrence or situation, especially a negative or difficult one”. This is often preached than practiced in my experience. However, if one can acquire the discipline to make this a habit, work results will be better.

7. Always review your work; Again, and again! Never let carelessness or arrogance blind you to your mistakes. When necessary, let others review it too. Take your criticism on the chin like a champ and learn from it. Most importantly, try to never repeat the same mistakes.

PS: while I think Emmanuel has found a job in HR, if you think you have the right HR opportunity for him, please drop me a note at hello@kolaaina.com.

Thanks and stay well.

Kola

--

--

Kola A.
Kola Aina

Purpose; Tech; Grit; Excellence; Impact; Balance; Legacy. www.kolaaina.com