Our hotel industry expert and explorer for the north of Germany. Get to know Denis!

Jördis Hille
Komoot
Published in
3 min readMar 22, 2023

Denis supports regions and hotels in sharing their most beautiful outdoor content with the komoot community. Denis loves discovering new places and he’s fascinated by lost places in the Balkans.

5 questions for Denis Dahlheimer, Senior Sales & Partnership Manager at komoot, about his CV, daily work routine, experiences with remote work, and what connects him personally with komoot.

Hi Denis! Please introduce yourself in a few sentences.

Hi, I’m Denis and after holding positions in Berlin and Cologne, I landed back in my hometown of Bochum. My main passion is discovering extraordinary places, from the industrial heritage of my home area to urban exploring in the Balkans. In my previous professional role, I worked as a consultant for a hotel booking portal and had the opportunity to get to know many regions in Germany.

What do you do at komoot and what does your day-to-day work look like?

As Senior Sales & Partnership Manager, I help our partners to have their most beautiful Tours more easily discovered by our outdoor community. As a contact person for tourism associations from northern Germany and the hotel industry, I see my role as creating added value on all sides. Inspiration and adventure for our outdoor community and a wide-reaching, easy-to-use platform for our partners that’s tailored to their target group. What’s particularly interesting is that we at komoot have the tools to provide data-driven advice on campaign creation and evaluation.

You work completely remotely with komoot. What advantages does that bring from your point of view?

The freedom to work from anywhere gives me the opportunity to pursue my passion and curiosity for exploring abandoned places even more. Besides that, working remotely also allows me to balance family, sports, and of course the actual job.

Furthermore, the remote-first structure is a strong argument to attract talent from all over the world to komoot. At komoot, we all share a passion for outdoor adventures, so team members can live in places that inspire them the most if they choose to. And remote doesn’t mean isolated either. At the team gatherings, all of our colleagues come together. It’s wonderful to spend time with each other in-person and for the feeling of togetherness.

What are your super skills, professionally and privately? When are you the right person to talk to?

I am comfortable communicating complex data in an understandable and goal-oriented manner. What sets me apart when working with partners is building relationships based on trust and maintaining them over the long term. My high level of curiosity, enthusiasm and spontaneity helps me to win new partners for komoot.

What connects you with komoot? And what adventures do you like to experience?

I love to be out and about. My favorite hikes are in remote areas and I like to capture them photographically. Komoot offers me so much inspiration. The best adventures for me are a mix of exploring abandoned large-scale projects in the Balkans and the people you meet on these Tours.​

Stay in touch with Denis:

--

--