#IWD2022 with Claire Lowry-Hubball

Jess Bateson
Koodoo
Published in
5 min readMar 8, 2022

Koodoo’s Head of Delivery Claire Lowry-Hubball reflects on why it is important to celebrate IWD, today and every day.

Claire and Apollo

1. What makes International Women’s Day special to you?

It’s so important to look at how far we’ve come but also how far we still have to go. I feel completely in awe of the women who paved the way for me to live my life as a gay woman working in technology, living safely, able to vote. I’m not sure I would ever have been as brave as those women to drive the change they did.

I feel an incredible responsibility, as a parent, colleague, friend and human to ensure I am able to do what I can to make the world a better place for all people, to ensure I keep my eyes & ears open to the challenges women still face today, all over the world.

In summary I think it’s so important to remember, to celebrate and to reflect on the work we still have ahead of us.

2. Have you faced any barriers in your career due to being a woman? If so, how did you overcome them?

In general terms I am super emotive. I’m a crier, it’s just who I am. For a long time I saw it as a sign of weakness or that I wouldn’t be taken seriously, because at times I wasn’t. I was told I shouldn’t wear my heart on my sleeve or that what I was saying wasn’t valuable because I was emotional, hormonal or on my period.

Well sometimes it’s true I’m hormonal, it’s what women have to deal with!

Now I see it as my super power, I’m so emotive because I have high emotional intelligence and I feel things, I care and I’m passionate. I’ve learnt to use this to my benefit in the same way you would with any other super power or strength you discover about yourself.

Have I stopped myself from crying? No, in fact I’ve just stopped hiding it and I talk about it. I’ll say if I think I’m going to and that they should still listen to what I’m saying. I’ll tell my team and I let them cry when they need to. Ultimately we all feel better, have better conversations and come out with better actions.

3. What is the most important message you want to send out to young women thinking about their careers?

  • Be you

There is no value in forcing yourself to be someone you are not and you will be miserable.

  • Be open

Have open dialogue with your colleagues, building strong working relationships is how we are able to have more challenging conversations and learn from each other.

  • Don’t stay where you aren’t happy

Every job teaches us something about ourselves and what we want from a career and in a workplace, good or bad. Don’t stay in those environments that make you unhappy because you feel you have to. You don’t. No workplace is right for everyone and there is no shame in acknowledging somewhere isn’t right for you, find the places where you thrive and people who share your passions and values.

Challenge companies on their values when you interview, working somewhere that has values that align with your own personal values will create a much more harmonious environment for you to be fulfilled.

4. Is there anyone that inspires you?

So so so many people, I find so many things inspiring and maybe that’s because I’m a fan of the little things, the times people stand up for themselves in a meeting or out on the street. When I see women standing together and supporting each other, the little gestures we can all do that have an impact.

5. Why do you think diversity in the workplace is so important?

I think it’s important everywhere. It’s critical to learning, broadening our minds and being more empathic human beings. If we surround ourselves with people just like us we won’t ever consider different perspectives or in the case of work, how people might use or benefit from our products.

It’s been said before but a diverse workforce is far more representative of the world we live in and the people likely to engage with your products or services. As an employee it makes the world of work far more interesting, there is so much value in needing to articulate your view in a way others can understand, in a way your customers need to understand.

Personally I really enjoy exploring different perspectives and evolving the way I think about things.

6. What are you most proud of doing?

Gosh this is a tricky one, I think the times I’ve pushed myself out of my comfort zone. I have not always been confident in my abilities throughout my career, no only as a women in a male dominate environment but also being dyslexic I feared people would think me lazy, rushed or even stupid.

I’ve spent a long time gathering feedback and understanding where I have the greatest value to add to a business. I’m also really upfront about my dyslexia to get it out of the way, manage expectations but also be really upfront about who I am.

It took me a long time to be able to take the risks in life and career than I have done, in the end if was the fear of all the missed opportunities and adventures that drove me forward and now I remind myself of a quote I love “Fear is the thief of dreams” any time I feel the fear.

“Fear is the thief of dreams”

7. What did you dream of when you were little?

Well my family mocked me because as a kid I told everyone I wanted to be a butterfly when I grew up… In some ways that hasn’t changed I do like to visit people and hopefully bring some joy to them all!

Sport was my real passion and if anyone told me that I’d be doing what I am now 15 years ago I wouldn’t have thought it was possible. However sport provided me with so many skills I’ve brought to work, passion, leadership, understanding the needs of the team and of management, being able to bridge the gap between.

More than everything it gave me confidence, it surrounded me with lots of women; strong, passionate women, who taught me so much about who I wanted to be as a person and that’s who I try to be everyday.

Playing hockey at the Commonwealth Games, Delhi 2010

--

--