Andong Fall Foliage (Part 1)

Andong Dam & Wolyoung Park

Amy K.
korea.travel.art-en
4 min readOct 18, 2019

--

When I tried to search for information about the best places to go in Andong for the best fall foliage, I could not find much information on the web, so I decided to search on the Korean web for more information. There are quite a number of recommended places but I just visited the more popular ones with convenient public transport because of my limited time in Andong. (The list below is from these two articles: 형형색색 가을옷 입은 안동의 단풍명소 10선, 안동의 단풍명소 8선)

A list of recommended spots for fall foliage in Andong

  1. Wolyeong Park 월영공원
  2. Andong Dam 안동댐
  3. Andong Lakeside Path 안동호반나들이길 (From Wolyoung Bridge 월영교 to Beopheunggyo Bridge 법흥교)
  4. Looking down to Dancheonri (단천리) from Wanmosan (왕모산) 갈선대
  5. Gasong Village 가송마을
  6. Dosan Confucian Academy 도산서원
  7. Looking down at Hahoe Village (하회마을) from Byeongdae Cliff
  8. Yonggyeri Ginkgo Tree 용계은행나무
  9. Gwangheungsa Temple in Hakgasan 학가산광흥사
  10. Mukgyeseowon Academy 묵계서원

Wolyeong Park, Andong Dam, Andong Lakeside Path

These three places are located close to each other. When I arrived at Andong, I realised my cashbee transport card could not be used here, so I needed to go search for a T-money card. Moreover, according to the bus schedule, I needed to wait for quite some time for the next bus anyway, so I decided to walk to Andong Dam, which wasn’t far from city centre according to the map. (I think it is over an hour for the whole walk to Wolyeong Bridge, but I did see sights I would not see otherwise during my walk.)

Because google map doesn’t show all the locations below clearly, so I am marking here a kakao map screencap of Andong, you can compare it to google map if you would like to use google map (which is really not recommended in Korea).

I followed the tracks of train leaving Andong station and half the way I saw an ancient pagoda- Beopheungsaji Seven-Storey Brick Pagoda (법흥사지칠층전탑). According to information on the official Korean travel organisation website, it is the biggest and oldest brick pagoda in Korea.

For historical pictures of the pagoda, you can check out this Korean blog.

There is a house from the Joseon dynasty beside the pagoda, but since the sun was already setting, I didn’t stop to check it out.

Walk under the railway track and then you will see the river and the dam, after you cross the river, you can walk straight towards Wolyeong Bridge and enjoy the walk with a great view of fall foliage on both sides of the river. The reason I went there so late was because I wanted to see Wolyoung bridge at night, so the photos did not look that great with the lights, but you should still be able to appreciate the abundance of fall foliage on both sides of the river.

The path is not difficult at all
The sky was dark before I reached Wolyeong Bridge

It was super cold here after sunset, remember to bring more clothes. There are a few restaurants serving “Fake Ancestor Worship Rice” (Andong Style Bibimbap) which is a famous dish in Andong on the side of the bridge close to the railway track. I had dinner there in one of them, it is a good experience to try out one of the specialty dishes here, but I found this bibimbap just ok,

Buses are infrequent here, remember to ask someone in the restaurant to call a taxi for you if you are here at night and don’t want to wait in the cold for a bus. Wolyoung bridge at night is really beautiful, Wolyoung means the reflection of the moon and you can really see the reflection here.

--

--

Amy K.
korea.travel.art-en

Korean travel addict. Interest for Korean culture started from Korean drama and extends to include its art, and sociopolitical aspects.