Korea Hairstyling Experience Sharing (Daegu Salon Recommendation)

Seoul hair dyeing and Daegu hair perming experience

Amy K.
korea.travel.art-en
4 min readApr 23, 2019

--

The first time I had my hair cut in Korea was in 2015, and that time I went to Juno Hair in Sinchon, I got my hair cut and dyed, I chose that place because of recommendations from a blog.

I went there on a Sunday afternoon, but there is no need to queue. I did not choose any hairstylist in particular. An assistant who also acted as a translator came and served me, and he asked me what I would like to get done for my hair.

In Korea, basically most of the hairstylist tend not to give any opinion on the recommended hair style, and there in Juno, they just gave me an iPad with pictures to select a hairstyle I like. There were biscuits and a drink, and I had an eye shield like thing to protect my face from the dye.

Our drinks in Juno

I spent 112500W for the whole service, which I considered a fair price, considering the level of service, but I was not particularly impressed by it. First of all, maybe because of the presence of the translator, I did not get to communicate with the hairstylist much, I feel that a lot of the decisions were actually made by the assistant (like the color of my hair).

And some of the questions I wanted to ask the hairstylist, he answered without consulting with the stylist and he did not bother to translate them at all.

And the hair washing basin and the chair were angled at such a design that my neck was bent backwards for almost 90 degrees when he washed my hair, and I found it so uncomfortable that I was reluctant to go back to Korea for another hairstyling experience after that. I thought all chairs and basins were designed like that in Korea.

So why did I try it again this time? It was because I had a Korean style perm in Hong Kong last year, and it took me 5.5 hours! I heard that this kind of perming requires special techniques and equipment, so not all hair salons can do it, and maybe because of that, the price is not cheap at all and there is a long wait for the equipment. And that’s why I did not get another hair cut for a year as I don’t want to spend another 5.5 hours… and that is why I decided to get my hair done in Korea.

I did some preparations before I went to Korea, I searched for hairstyles I like on IG for the hairstylist. Initially my plan is to go to a certain hair salon that is recommended by quite a few overseas bloggers, but then I suddenly found another salon recommended by Koreans on daum, so I decided to go there instead. They said it is cheap and it is good.

In the end, my perm and my hair cut cost me 37000W in total in cash, yes it was 37000W, original price was 39000W and they gave me 2000W discount with cash.

The difference between my previous experience in Juno, there weren't any snacks or drinks here BUT the price difference would allow me to have a big meal elsewhere! The design and cleanliness of the place are all very decent, and for me, I finally know the basin and chair can be comfortable in Korea! This time my chair slid to the front when I sat down, it was so much more comfortable!

This is the price list.

Even though it is cheap here, I got what I want, and the hairstylist was very willing to answer my questions, of course there was no translator here, but I think if you have a picture prepared you can get your hair done here without using any Korean.

This was the pic I found for my hairstylist.

This place is just at exit 3 of the Jungangro station at Daegu. There are also branches in Seoul, Busan and Gwangju, but I am not sure if they are all good. You can search with this name (착한미용실원투쓰리) on kakao or naver map.

Daegu branch name: 착한미용실원투쓰리 동성로점

Address:대구 중구 동성로 63 3층

Phone: 053–421–5557

The salon is on 3rd floor of this building
Walk up the staircase and you can find the salon. Opening hours 1030-2100
Hair Salon on 3rd floor

--

--

Amy K.
korea.travel.art-en

Korean travel addict. Interest for Korean culture started from Korean drama and extends to include its art, and sociopolitical aspects.