Different Waxes and Melt Points for Candle Making

Sophia Jihye Yun
Sophia Yun Candle and Soap
2 min readNov 20, 2019

Paraffin Or Soy? Which wax do you need for your next candle making project?

Photo by Micheile Henderson @micheile010 // Visual Stories [nl] on Unsplash

I tried to make a hurricane candle holders for my friends, I am not sure if I take paraffin or paraffin/soy blend wax.

Let’s just sort out every wax I know by its melting point. I just need the highest melt point wax, above 150 Fahrenheit.

I would love to try every wax available in the market, but I don’t have that much money and time to experiment. Sadly, I made this list for my next candle project.

High Melt Point (Usually have 140 F or above (60 Celsius) melt point)

Suitable for pillar, hand-dipped candle, cylindrical candle, mold candle, carving candle

Low fragrance retention, High shrinkage

Need to add additives like micro-crystalline (to add softness, and prevent shrinkage)

IGI4625, Beeswax (generally), 140 MP Wax, Granulated Wax, Gel, Pillar/Votive Wax

Medium Melt Point (Usually have 127–140 F (52.7–60 Celsius) melt point)

Best for making container candle, wax melt, (maybe votive candles)

Medium fragrance retention, Medium shrinkage

IGI4794, IGI1343, Container/Votive Wax, Cargill C-3, Cargill C-6, 50/50 mix of IGI4630 (soft) and IGI4625 (hard)

Low Melt Point (Usually have 126 or below (52.2 Celsius) melt point)

Best for making container candle

High fragrance retention, Low shrinkage

Golden 464, Golden 444, Soy (generally), IGI 4627, IGI 4630, IGI 6006, Golden Wax Melt and Tart

Resources;

--

--