Holiday Soy Candle Making for Birthday Favors

Sophia Jihye Yun
Sophia Yun Candle and Soap
5 min readNov 21, 2019

For Preschool Mom Friends of Laon & Ethan

Golden Brands 464 Scentless Wax

For my second son’s birthday party this year, I made a plan for preschool mom friends I have. We’ve met few times though I just wanted to express how thankful I am with those kids in kindergarten with my babies.

Golden Brands 464 Scentless Wax

Anyway, I bought this Golden Brands 464 Scentless Wax over Amazon, and I am planning only making 48 tin cases for my best friends and families as well.

Through the candle making process, this soy wax dye was killing me. I will try use these as soon as possible and buy something else. It doesn’t melt well on 185 F either, it needs exceeding amount of dye. I’d rather buy real color block for candle, than these cheap made dye.

48 of tin cases

Anyway, here I go.

I need tin cases, I bought 48 of them through Amazon again, fast shipping makes me happy :)

And I got these heavy weight wick centering devices, 20 wasn’t enough, but I will only make 12 batches at a time. So it works.

And for 4 oz. candle tin cases, I got Eco 10 6 inch pre-tabbed wicks. It was suggested to use in 2" — 2 3/4" diameter containers which was perfect because 4 oz tin cases have only 2.5 inch diameter.

For wick stickers, I bought this one at Amazon. The size was just perfect.

36 lb for 12 tin cases

Ok, enough for supply list. I got 12 cases for Christmas scent. So I measured only 36 lb for 12 tin cases this time.

melting it!

I am using my induction, but yesterday it died. So I’m using my kitchen, I do not use my kitchen for candle making, but yesterday I had no choice.

Ready for pouring guys!

While I was waiting for my wax gets soft, I got tin cases ready for pouring. I think it would be easier for you to install that wick centering devices after you’ve done with pouring, I just did everything.

180 degree or something close

It reached almost 185, I turned off the heat and added color dye. Soy wax needs more than what we use for paraffin wax.

So add more… and more…

I finally got some pastel pink color. (you see red but it’s going to turn out pastel pink)

Anyway, I got a lot of dyes in to the wax, still I didn’t get red color I wanted. I stopped adding more red dye, thinking ‘pink is actually not a bad idea’.

still hot wax.

And it was around mid night. My kiddos got awake, and started crying for me. So I just left everything there, wishing my wax doesn’t get too cold.

2.5 lb of Christmas Wreath

There! I came back. I measured my scent, Christmas something. Christmas Wreath.

And I think I should get other brand next time. The scent was great, not so much ‘oh I hate this it smells too strong’ but, I had to pour more than 50% of its bottle to make 2.5 lb out of it.

I think I need more… scents with higher flash point and less benzyl benzoate in it. Scents are too expensive for when it’s for candle making.

But yeah, scent was great. I poured the scent to my wax, now it’s time for actual pour to tins.

You pour 464 wax around 145 F

It’s real show time now.

I should have warmed up my tin cases while I was waiting for my wax to cool down… But oh well. Too much work.

Spilled Everywhere Whoo-hoo

I expect them to be turned out as sweet pink color, but let us see.

center the wick again

Wicks were moving around, I had to set them up straight again. And I moved them to the place where my kids cannot see.

If they see these, oh, I don’t think I can imagine what would happen.

Hiding behind the kitchen, Safe and Sound
So Pink!

Ohh I’m so ready to go home and take a look at my candles!

In this morning I took a picture, it looked okay to me.

Of course some of them I need to re heat the top, and make it pretty, but most of them turned out nice.

I will put the label stickers on tonight, and show you how it worked out nicely. :)

I’m thinking of my next candle project already… Haha.

--

--