How I Design the Promotional Banner for Chicken House

Sophia Jihye Yun
Sophia Yun Candle and Soap
2 min readOct 16, 2019

They wanted to promote their liquor drinks on sale.

First things first, they gave me their old banner design for reference.

Reference is very important role when I start working on design. Its structure, the color they use, word choices, pretty much everything counts.

Thankfully they already had a design they liked.

But this time, they wanted to change to new banner with another beer they want to promote.

1st Draft

They wanted two things.

CASS/OB Beer Glass and Flavored Soju images on the banner.

And I gave them the first draft. They said the soju image is different. Hmm, it might be better if they provided me with the images they want from website.

2nd Draft

I changed the images of soju bottle. I couldn’t find the right image, nor I have them in my hand. So I just googled them and put together with Photoshop.

This time, they wanted to change the color to summer-ish theme.

I told them it would get people’s attention better when the red and yellow is used together, but I just tried different color for them.

They liked it!

This is the last, finalized design they liked.

I changed the color theme to sky blue, so people feel cool when they see this.

And additionally, they added new beer they decided to go on sale.

Then I would have to make some spaces, and ta-da!

They liked it so much, they said they printed two times for inside and outside.

It was great to work with them, but it would have been better if owner knows what he wanted before I try anything.

Though, you’ll never know until you actually get something in front of your eyes. And then you’ll either love it or hate it.

It’s nice to hear that they finally liked it though. :)

--

--